Recent Updates

  • Updated on: Nov 16, 2021

    How do I create groups?

    You may create groups in your site in several different ways:

    • Manually create and assign users to a group.
    • Create joinable groups that site participants can elect to join.
    • Automatically generate groups by user role, number of groups per site, or number of users per group.
    • Import group information from a file.
  • Updated on: Nov 16, 2021

    How do I add a class roster?

    Note: Permissions for adding or deleting rosters in a given site may vary depending on your system's institutional enrollment implementation. In most cases, adding rosters by class or section is subject to automated roster updates.

  • For most institutions, student enrollment for registered courses is handled automatically through integration with the institutional student information system. However, if your institution allows site owners to add other participants such as TAs, Designers, etc., this article will walk you through the steps on how to add users.

  • Note: Sakai does not destructively delete user data when removing users from a site. Therefore, if you remove a user from your site, and then later reinstate that user, all of the user's activity within the site will remain intact once you add the user back into the course or project.

  • The Tool Menu can be customized by the instructor of the course to modify the order or appearance of menu items in the site. 

  • Updated on: Nov 16, 2021

    How do I edit the site information?

  • Updated on: Nov 16, 2021

    How do I add tools to my site?

    Sakai has many different tools available to use in your course or project site.  You may choose which tools you want to use and may add or remove tools at any point.

  • The set of permissions applies to the use of the Sign-up Tool across the site, not to any particular meeting.  Permissions can be granted, by role,, with an interface for doing so that resembles that of other tools.  The “Permissions” link shows,  for each realm of grouping— (1) site (all members), and (2, 3, ...) group, for each group defined on that site, a labelled button that leads to an authorization matrix.  For groups that do not include the site organizer as a member, the group button is not active in the Permissions settings and the site organizer cannot adjust the settings.

    Only certain permissions in certain contexts are meaningful.  The privilege “create.site” addresses creation of new meetings, so, if that box is checked in the “access” row, representing users with student status, students will have the “Add” link on their Meetings page.  If “create.site” is not checked for the access role, but “create.group” is checked in the “access” row for a site group (defined in Site Info), then student members of that group will have the “Add” link, and be able to create meetings, for that group only.  If groups are defined, the “view” and “attend” permissions must be checked for that group realm, as stated on screen, in order for group members to sign up.  No adjustment will allow the Sign-up button to appear for meeting organizers.  For more details, contact your system administrator.

  • Updated on: Nov 16, 2021

    What is the Site Info tool?

    Site Info tool contains many of the course management features needed for instructors to customize and manage their courses. Instructors may edit and rearrange the tools on their course toolbar, add participants, manage groups, publish or unpublish their course, import content from another site, and track participant enrollment activity.

    If you have limited site permissions (i.e. participant), you'll see only the site's description and your group memberships, if applicable, in Site Info.

    Note: The functions of the Site Info tool are also available through the Worksite Setup tool, which is available from the Tool Menu when you are in My Workspace.

  • Updated on: Nov 16, 2021

    How do I manually add users to meetings?